How I simultaneously love and hate swimming

27 Oct

So, I went swimming for the first time in months. Does anyone find it incredibly challenging to motivate yourself to go swimming? With the elliptical or stationary bike I feel as though it requires virtually no motivation at all. I just hop on, get out my book or turn the TV to a good station and I could be there all day. Running takes a little more motivation since it can be long and challenging depending on the day. But for the most part, I can talk myself into changing and getting out there. But swimming is a different beast entirely. You have to change, pack your swim bag, travel to the pool, change, talk yourself into jumping into the cold water, swim, get tired, swim some more, get out of the pool, shower, change and journey home. Before you know it 2-3 hours of your day are gone. But the one thing I will say for swimming is it may be the hardest to talk yourself into but it’s the most rewarding at the end. You can head home feeling clean and refreshed inside and out.
There is, however a down side to swimming that isn’t present in most other workouts: people. Now, don’t mistake me for someone who is antisocial. I LOVE working out with people. But with swimming you aren’t swimming with people, you’re swimming despite them. And that’s not as inspirational.
I was fortunate today in that I spent the first half hour with a lane to myself and it was glorious. The second half hour, was less glorious as two gentlemen joined the lane. The first I would describe as the swimmer who thinks he knows it all and the second was the type of swimmer who’s trying to prove he knows it all. Neither are attractive qualities.
The first took it upon himself to regularly sprint to the wall out of nowhere and come inches away from smacking into me as I went to flip-turn and push off. He was a treat. To him I have the following to say, “Sir, I understand you are impressed by the speed you achieve in doing a single length, but I, myself am doing 60 consecutively so I would appreciate it if you timed the one length you do more appropriately.”
The second gentleman was the dreaded, flipper-wearing type. The type who do a couple of lengths at top speed before draping themselves across the wall to rest, thereby making you turning around at the wall next to impossible. But this particular gentleman was the type who also found joy in swimming as close to me as possible so he could brush against me while he passed. To him, I have the following to say “Friend, I understand you are deeply impressed by the speed your fake duck feet give you and you are eager to show me just how skilled you are. However, as someone who is holding her breath every fourth length and kicking with the dainty toes God gave me, I am less than swept off my feet. Kindly desist from body-grazing me. Much appreciated.”
But all in all, I genuinely enjoyed my swim and really must commit to doing it more. What about you? Any humorous swimming stories to share?

4 Responses to “How I simultaneously love and hate swimming”

  1. Catharine Daly October 27, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    I love when you are on about your 50th length and go to pass a person who has just done a couple of lengths. You know you are faster and so expect no difficulty passing them….and then they decide to sprint just to show that they are as fast….for a couple of seconds.

    • sheelbeel October 28, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

      Haha yes I have definitely been in that situation!

  2. Abigail @ Rosy Hill October 28, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    This is exactly how I feel about swimming! So must hassle and requires a lot of willpower to actually go but I really enjoy it and feel great afterwards. I also require a lane to myself as other people are just one long irritation.

    • sheelbeel October 28, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      I’m so glad I’m not alone!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

